top of page
  • Writer's pictureCharli Davies

Book Review: Reasons To Stay Alive by Matt Haig

Updated: Dec 29, 2020


This book I bought years ago, I picked it up before I decided to go back and retrain as a counsellor. I remember it being on a best seller table at my local bookshop, I read it in a day it was so enthralling.


I decided to revisit this book, after my training as a counsellor. I am so glad I did!


This book is a true recount of the experience of the author Haig, and his writing bears the grittiness of how depression and anxiety can take hold.


He recounts his near attempt at suicide, and his lengthily journey where he regained control over his life again.


The chapters he writes, are short and concise which does make it difficult to put down. His writing style involves metaphors and similes which help create an in-depth picture of his soul and how he was feeling which makes it very relatable.


One theme Haig writes is the imagined conversations he would have with his past self, how they might have played out. This really highlights how in the deepest part of depression there is a loss of all hope, how you are robbed of any thought of the future, and anyone (not even yourself if you had a time machine) telling you otherwise cannot get you out of that hole.


Haigs journey is an insightful inspirational one. He really underpins the importance of support and speaking to others about the pain, can be life changing and life-affirming.


I would highly recommend this book to clients, family’s/ friends of people living with depression, therapists and even people working in the healthcare sector (GPS, mental health nurses etc). To be honest I would recommend this book to anyone as it’s a insight into a life changed by depression and anxiety.


5/5


Charli Davies


***If you're a trainee counsellor I might have just the thing for you!!!***

The Trainee Counsellor's Workbook digital download now on etsy:





98 views0 comments

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page